TPSS Board of Representatives Meeting

Date: April 26, 2018

Time and Place: 6:00pm, TPSS Co-op

Board present: Mary Rooker (MR), Robert Anderson (RA), Susan Cho (SC), Susanne Lowen

(SL), Diane Curran (DC), Rachel Hardwick (RH), Fred Feinstein (FF)

Board absent: Melissa Schweisguth (MS), Adam Frank (AF)

Staff present: Hussein Choteka (HC), Acting General Manager; Martha Witman (MW),

Consultant

Members present: Michael Tabor (MT) Minutes submitted by: Julia Eddy (JE)

BOARD ACTIONS:

• The Board approved the Mar 22, 2018 Board meeting minutes as submitted.

• The Board postponed review of the Ends & Indicators Report until the May meeting.

Check-in:

Lots going on right now, late nights and many meetings related to the Junction. Everyone is doing a great job.

Open Member Forum:

One member was present. Michael Tabor (MT) is a produce supplier, a supporter of the Co-op, and has been around since the Co-op's founding. MT offered several suggestions related to the Junction, including expanding the conversation to highlight land use and gentrification, host a political forum, discuss the history of the Bethesda Avenue Co-op.

The Bethesda Ave Co-op was a thriving co-op, so successful they used to lend money to other local projects, then for various reasons it was pushed out to Cabin John and it never recovered.

MT shared that he found it difficult to deliver to Johns Hopkins and stopped because delivery was too cumbersome and time consuming.

Interim GM's updates

HC provided updates on the Co-op. The Co-op will recognize International Workers Day on May 1st with some free samples for customers. Management hosted a staff benefits event with speakers from CareFirst, the health benefits broker and a local credit union. HC and staff are fielding some phone calls and questions about the Junction.

Board committee updates:

GM Search:

The Carlisle Group has sent some candidates that need to be reviewed.

Meeting adjourned 7:09pm.

Committee Assignments:

Audit and Finance Committee: AF (Chair); RA, MS, SL

Policy Committee: MS, SC, (Co-Chairs); AF, DC

Membership and Community Affairs Committee: FF (Chair); MR, DC

<u>GM Search Committee:</u> MS (Chair); MR, AF, SL <u>Nominations Committee</u>: RH (Chair); AF, FF

Personnel Committee: RH, RA, MR

Term 2017 Meeting Attendance:

Term 2017 Mee	Dec	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	Ma y	Jun	Jul	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov
Anderson	*	*	*	*	*							
Curran	ex	*	*	*	*							
Cho	*	*	*	*	*							
Feinstein	*	*	ex	*	*							
Frank	ex	ex	*	*	ex							
Hardwick	*	*	ex	*	*							
Lowen	*	*	*	*	*							
Rooker	*	*	*	ex	*							
Schweisguth	*	*	*	*	ex							

(ex=excused)

Board Terms:

Board Representative	Term:	Term Ends:		
Anderson	1 year (consecutive term)	2018		
Curran	3 years	2020		

Cho	3 years	2019
Feinstein	3 years	2019
Frank	3 years (consecutive term)	2020
Hardwick	3 years (consecutive term)	2019
Lowen	3 years	2020
Rooker	2 years	2018
Schweisguth	2 years	2018